1918-1932 Avant-garde De Stijl and functionalism

1918 DeStijl- Gerri Rieveld Chaise rouge bleu

 

Style (pronounce [də.’stɛil], in Dutch « le style ») was first a review of’arts et d’architecture, published 1917 to 1928, under the leadership of Theo van Doesburg and with the active participation of Piet Mondrian. Par extension, Style refers to an artistic movement, derived from néo-plasticisme and has profoundly influenced the architecture of xxand century (especiallyBauhaus and, consequently, the style international).

1. mediumcontrol-de-stijl-walker-art-center-0

In the words of Marek Wieczorek1 "Most of its members envision a utopian environment through abstract art, universal harmony in the full integration of all the arts ". The ambition of Style was to give new meaning to the arts by bringing, by integrating around the desire to destroy the “baroque” (according to the meaning that Van Doesburg[cf. citations] and his friends gave this word), and by the use of colors and "pure" shapes, in dynamic equilibrium and expansion as, light, and even, visually, weightless ! Mathematics, the perfection of the machine, community life and the anonymity of working methods at that time were stimulated in their research.

765px-Destijl_anthologiebonset DeStijlThree

Besides Van Doesburg and Mondrian this movement’avant-garde transdisciplinary included among its members the most famous architects Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud, J. Wils and Robert Van't Hoff, Cornelis Van Eesteren, designer furniture Gerrit Rietveld, the poet A. Why, painters and sculptors Bart van der Leck, Georges Vantongerloo, Vilmos Huszar, César Domela, Vordemberge-Gildewart, artist-architect El Lissitzky and the painter and filmmaker Hans Richter. With, promptly, participation Laszlo Moholy-Nagy and Jean Arp.

The purpose of Style, in 1932, was precipitated by differences increasingly prominent among its founding members, Van Doesburg Mondrian criticizing its lack of freedom and imagination in the creation, and also by the death of Doesburg in 1931.

 

Van Doesburg van-doesburg----006

Van Doesburg

BeatTheWhites El Lissitzky el-lissitzky-broom

El Lissitzky

Hans Richter, Filmstudie, 1926 (still)_1 Hans+Richter1

Hans Richter

Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud d Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud oud-jacobus-johannes-pieter-j-chair

Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud

 

Néoplasticisme

The term néoplasticisme was employed by the Dutch painters Piet Mondrian and Theo van Doesburg to describe their art, abstract, austere and geometric.

Composition of a picture

These two painters imply that their tables are made of purely formal elements, or plastic, colors such as, forms, lines and planes. Any reference to the material world is banished from their webs, as in Composition with gray, red, yellow, and blue Mondrian andComposition Van Doesburg, painted both shortly after the end of the World War I. These works are examples of the creation of the Dutch movement Style (Le style), informal group of artists founded in 1917 and directed by Van Doesburg and Mondrian. Stripped of these tables visual language has made icons of the modern era.

“Composition with, red, black, blue and yellow “ Mondrian [change]

This Mondrian painting appears as a relatively simple configuration elements. Black lines across the table horizontally and vertically, precisely parallel to the edges of the canvas. They form an irregular grid with areas of flat color and rectangular: black, many shades of gray, red and yellow mixed with gray. The provision asymmetrical, but how these blocks of color are associated in any table maintains a sense of balance or visual unity. Mondrian himself said these tables: “You must first try to see composition, color and line and not representation as representation.” Mondrian then develops a talented art form of its own reality, distinct from the rest of the existence. The néoplasticistes reduced the drawing to its most basic form and is employed as the three Primary colors: blue, red and yellow.

Art harmonieux

Mondrian said repeatedly that he wanted a balanced and harmonious art. This is not just a pictorial concern, considered as the balance in his works as equivalent of a cosmic harmony. Mondrian was influenced by the Russian painter Kandinsky,and the mathematician Matthew Dutch Schoenmaekers that 1915 wrote: “The two basic absolute opposites that shape our earth are: to the horizontal line, that is to say, the path of the earth around the sun, and the vertical movement, deep space rays originating from the center of the sun.”

The geometric structure of Mondrian's painting is very different from the subjective world and gestural art of Kandinsky before the war. If neoplastic art was an art idealistic never visa to be “timeless”, forms utopian in are no less the product of a particular era. The order and stability were of great importance after trauma the First World War, Mondrian and Van Doesburg and art had a fundamental role to play in rebuilding civilization western. The works of these two artists can therefore be considered as examples, paving the way morally and aesthetically while Europe was entering a new phase in its history.

In 1942, Mondrian vivait à New-York. Having spent several years exploring the different combinations of his pictorial basic – primary colors, black and white grid -, he changed direction radically. As his work “Broadway Boogie-Woogie”. The title suggests that it was directly inspired by the city, and by the rate of Jazz. His visual language and its openness to material references reveal an artist who turns his back to the restrictions that he had deliberately imposed with Neoplasticism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

1918-1932 Avant-garde et fonctionalisme De Stijl

1918 DeStijl- Gerri Rieveld Chaise rouge bleu

 

De Stijl (prononcer [də.’stɛil], en néerlandais « le style ») fut tout d’abord une revue d’arts plastiques et d’architecture, publiée de 1917 à 1928, sous l’impulsion de Theo van Doesburg et avec la participation active de Piet Mondrian. Par extension, De Stijl désigne un mouvement artistique, issu du néo-plasticisme et ayant profondément influencé l’architecture du xxe siècle (en particulier leBauhaus et, par voie de conséquence, le style international).

1. mediumcontrol-de-stijl-walker-art-center-0

Pour reprendre la formule de Marek Wieczorek1 « la plupart de ses membres envisagent un environnement utopique par le biais de l’art abstrait, d’une harmonie universelle dans l’intégration complète de tous les arts ». L’ambition de De Stijl a été de donner un sens nouveau aux arts en les rapprochant, en les intégrant autour du désir de destruction du « baroque » (selon l’acception que Van Doesburg[cf. citations] et ses amis donnaient à ce mot), et par l’utilisation de couleurs et de formes « pures », en équilibre dynamique et comme en expansion, légères, et même, visuellement, en apesanteur ! Les mathématiques, la perfection de la machine, la vie en collectivité et l’anonymat des méthodes de travail à cette époque les ont stimulés dans leurs recherches.

765px-Destijl_anthologiebonset DeStijlThree

Outre Van Doesburg et Mondrian ce mouvement d’avant-garde transdisciplinaire a compris parmi ses membres les plus célèbres les architectes Jacobus Johannes Pieter OudJ. Wils et Robert Van’t HoffCornelis Van Eesteren, le créateur de mobilier Gerrit Rietveld, le poète A. Kok, les peintres et sculpteurs Bart van der LeckGeorges VantongerlooVilmos HuszárCésar DomelaFriedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, l’artiste-architecte El Lissitzky et le peintre et cinéaste Hans Richter. Avec, ponctuellement, la participation de László Moholy-Nagy et Jean Arp.

La fin de De Stijl, en 1932, a été précipitée par des divergences de plus en plus saillantes entre ses deux membres fondateurs, Van Doesburg reprochant à Mondrian son manque de liberté et d’imagination dans la création, et aussi par la mort de Doesburg en 1931.

 

Van Doesburg van-doesburg----006

Van Doesburg

BeatTheWhites El Lissitzky el-lissitzky-broom

El Lissitzky

Hans Richter, Filmstudie, 1926 (still)_1 Hans+Richter1

Hans Richter

Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud d Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud oud-jacobus-johannes-pieter-j-chair

Jacobus Johannes Pieter Oud

 

Néoplasticisme

 Le terme néoplasticisme fut employé par les peintres néerlandais Piet Mondrian et Theo van Doesburg pour décrire leur art, abstrait, austère et géométrique.

Composition d’un tableau 

Ces deux peintres sous-entendent que leurs tableaux sont constitués d’éléments purement formels, ou plastiques, tels que couleurs, formes, lignes et plans. Toute référence au monde matériel est bannie de leurs toiles, comme dans Composition avec gris, rouge, jaune, et bleu de Mondrian etComposition de Van Doesburg, toutes deux peintes peu après la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale. Ces œuvres sont des exemples de création du mouvement néerlandais De Stijl (Le style), groupe informel de peintres fondé en 1917 et dirigé par Van Doesburg et Mondrian. Le langage visuel dépouillé de ces tableaux en a fait des icônes de l’ère moderne.

« Composition avec, rouge, noir, bleu et jaune «  de Mondrian [modifier]

Ce tableau de Mondrian apparaît comme une configuration relativement simple d’éléments. Des lignes noires traversent le tableau horizontalement et verticalement, précisément parallèles aux bords de la toile. Elles forment une grille irrégulière contenant des zones de couleurs plates et rectangulaires: noires, plusieurs nuances de gris, et rouge et jaune mêlés de gris. La disposition est asymétrique, mais la manière dont ces blocs de couleur sont associés dans tout le tableau maintient une impression d’équilibre ou d’unité visuelle. Mondrian dira lui-même de ces tableaux: « Vous devez d’abord tenter de voir composition, couleur et ligne et non la représentation comme représentation. » Mondrian développe alors une forme d’art doué d’une réalité propre, distincte du reste de l’existence. Les néoplasticistes réduisirent le dessin à sa forme la plus basique et n’employèrent que les trois Couleurs primaires: bleu, rouge et jaune.

Art harmonieux

Mondrian déclara à plusieurs reprises qu’il recherchait un art équilibré et harmonieux. Ce n’est pas seulement une préoccupation picturale, puisqu’il considérait l’équilibre dans ses œuvres comme équivalents d’une harmonie cosmique. Mondrian fut influencé par le peintre russe Kandinsky,ainsi que le mathématicien néerlandais Matthieu Schoenmaekers qui en 1915 écrivit: « Les deux contraires absolus fondamentaux qui façonnent notre terre sont: la ligne horizontale de pouvoir, c’est-à-dire la course de la terre autour du soleil, et le mouvement vertical, profondément spatial des rayons originaires du centre du soleil. »

La structure géometrique de la peinture de Mondrian est très différente du monde subjectif et gestuel de l’art de Kandinsky avant la guerre. Si l’art néoplastique était un art idéaliste qui ne visa jamais à être « intemporel », ses formes utopiques n’en demeurent pas moins le produit d’une époque particulière. L’ordre et la stabilité avaient une grande importance après le traumatisme de la Première Guerre mondiale, et pour Mondrian et Van Doesburg l’art avait un rôle fondamental à jouer pour reconstruire la civilisation occidentale. Les œuvres de ces deux artistes peuvent en conséquence être considérés comme des exemples, ouvrant la voie moralement et esthétiquement tandis que l’Europe entrait dans une nouvelle phase de son histoire.

En 1942, Mondrian vivait à New-York. Ayant passé plusieurs années à explorer les différentes combinaisons de ses éléments picturaux de base – couleurs primaires, grille noire et fond blanc -, il changea radicalement de direction. Comme son œuvre « Broadway Boogie-Woogie ». Le titre suggère qu’il a été directement inspiré par la ville, ainsi que par le rythme du Jazz. Son langage visuel et son ouverture à des références matérielles révèlent un artiste qui tourne le dos aux restrictions qu’il s’était volontairement imposé avec le néoplasticisme.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.